Get Archives Help
Contact us at:
Email: archives@calpoly.edu
Phone: (805) 756-2305
Guide author
Special Collections and Archives
Kennedy Library, Cal Poly
Gaps and Silences in Archives and Special Collections
Archives are not unbiased repositories of the past in its entirety, they are in fact spaces of gaps and silences. These gaps and silences are due to changing opinions of what materials people have considered "of enduring value," and can reflect historical, institutional, and internalized racism, classism, sexism, and ignorance of marginalized communities. Biases also impact archivists' description. Archives are not neutral.
Learn more about how to be a critical user of archives and primary sources.
Special Collections and Archives Specialized Subjects
There are millions of primary sources in our archives! But they aren't all digitized and aren't all in the library catalog. So how do you know what is here? Most archives have areas they focus on, such as geographic areas, organizations, communities, and topics. Here some of our areas of focus and point to additional information on these areas.
University Archives
The University Archives includes records created about Cal Poly from 1900 to the present. University Archives: Researching Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo County and the Central Coast
Researching the Central Coast in Special Collections and Archives and beyond? Researching SLO County History
Architecture and the Built Environment in California
Learn more about the architecture, landscape architecture, and built environment collections:
Architecture and Built Environment Archives Research
Julia Morgan Architectural Archives
William F. Cody Architectural Archives
Artists' Books
Learn more about the ever-expanding artists' books collection: Artists' Books Guide.
Browsing the archives on OAC
You may just want to browse the archives! In addition to the guides above, you can also browse lists of our archival collections at the Online Archive of California. Learn more about the OAC here.
Archives by communities, subjects, and themes
Sometimes, when you are just getting started with research in an archives, it can help to see collections from communities, or about topics and subjects, to get familiar. Here we've listed some of the archival collections that may be of interest as you begin your research. This is a selection to get you started. You can also browse many of our collections on the Online Archive of California.
Many of the archives relate to the experiences of communities on the Central Coast and California. Here are some of the archival collections:
- Gabriel L. Valencia Farm Labor Collection (MS0171)
- Murgia Chicano Latino Periodicals (MS0156)
- NAACP Convention Photograph Collection, July 1949 (MS0152)
- Alice M. Martin Papers (MS0122)
- Guadalupe Speaks Oral History Collection (MS0120)
- Ethnic Studies Oral History Collection (MS0105)
- Viva La Causa: A Decade of Farm Labor Organizing on the Central Coast - Traveling Exhibit (MS0102)
- Central Coast Farm Labor Organizing Collection (MS0098)
- Smith Family Papers on World War II (MS0065)
- Messinger Pacific Theater World War II Collection (MS0064)
- Painted Rock Pictograph Collection (MS0049)
- Manzanar Collection (MS0026)
The archives has many collections of environmentalists who were involved on the central coast, including activism around Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant.
- Bongio (Enrico) Papers, 1952-1993
- Central Coast Power Plants and Environmentalism Collection
- Coastal Alliance on Plant Expansion (CAPE), Records of the
- David A. Bainbridge Collection on Water Wall Passive Solar Design
- Dark Circle Documentary Film Collection
- Goddard Jones (Kathleen) Correspondence, 1918-2002 (bulk 1926-1932)
- Goddard Jones (Kathleen) Papers, 1933-2001 (bulk 1964-1994)
- McMillan (Ian) Papers, 1925-1990 (bulk 1960-1990)
- McMillan-Wreden California Condor Collection, 1953 (bulk 1953)
- Miossi (Harold) Papers, 1942-1990 (bulk 1975-1990)
- Mothers for Peace
- Robert L. Jones Papers on Morro Bay
- Wilson (Lee) Papers, 1956-1989 (bulk 1961-1972)
More about the library's Diablo Canyon Power Plant Documents
The archives holds a variety of materials that document the history of California Travel and Boosterism history, from train schedules to city brochures. These materials are cataloged in the library's catalog OneSearch. Explore the collection.
- Women's Zines Collection
- Murguia Chicano Latino Periodicals Collection
- Moore Collection of Underground Comix
- Heavy Metal Magazine
