Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Architect Julia Morgan

For researchers studying Julia Morgan and her work, including Hearst Castle

The Julia Morgan Collections at Cal Poly

Special Collections and Archives cares for several collections that relate to architect Julia Morgan.Oval black and white portrait of Julia Morgan wearing glasses

Types of materials include:

 

 

Julia Morgan studio portrait, by Boyé Studio, circa 1926.

Julia Morgan Papers, Special Collections and Archives, Cal Poly 00ID 010-1-h-12-13

Digitized Materials Online

Over 5,000 items from the Julia Morgan collections are digitized and available online. Morgan's sketch of Casa Grande in blue pencil with notes written by Hearst in the lower right corner.

Search the Morgan collections in the Online Archive

Learn more about searching the Online Archive

Books and articles and more on Julia Morgan

The library has books, journals, and research papers on Julia Morgan, most which also feature materials from the archives at Cal Poly. Some of these publications are located in Special Collections and can be requested to the reading room. You can get a start by browsing the materials in OneSearch, the library's catalog.

A few selected publications we start with:

A nice place to start with a podcast, listen to the 2021 New Angle Beverly Willis episode on Julia Morgan.

Expand your search, learn more at Librarian Jesse Vestermark's pages on finding secondary sources.