ALWAYS SIGN IN FOR FULL ACCESS

Remote access to databases and electronic resources via OneSearch is restricted to currently-enrolled Cal Poly students, staff, faculty, and affiliates.  For off-campus access, you will log in using your Cal Poly username and password, then complete multi-factor authentication via DUO.

                                STANDARD CAL POLY SIGN-IN BOX ENCOUNTERED WHEN YOU CLICK ON A DATABASE.                                               

• You can access databases individually without signing into OneSearch.  But OneSearch requires a separate sign in.  So, to make requests, see your account, and view full-text options you must also sign into OneSearch. So remember: ALWAYS Sign in for Full Access.

THREE WAYS TO SIGN INTO ONESEARCH

1.  You can sign in pro-actively before you search on the library homepage.

2. You can sign in at the prompt below the search box on the OneSearch Interface. 

3.  You can sign in on the prompt offered on the OneSearch pages for individual items.  Signing in will conjure up links for Cal Poly, CSU+, and Interlibrary Loan Requests.

TROUBLESHOOTING DATABASE AND ONESEARCH ACCESS

• Account not verified or recognized?  If you are a new student, faculty, or staff, your OneSearch account is not activated until you have your PolyCard.  (Click here for getting information on getting your PolyCard.) The good news is, even if your OneSearch account is not yet active, you can access databases by logging in directly with your Cal Poly username and password.
• Mis-enter your password more than twice? This will block your account for 30 minutes.  During regular business hours you can contact the ITS Service Desk at  805-756-7000 to unlock your account.  For finding further username and password assistance: ITS password help. )

BLOCKED FROM PARTICULAR CONTENT OR DATABASES?

These strategies go from easiest to most complex; any one of these might resolve the issue.  The last (VPN) often provides an effective workaround when there is a larger issue with the databases.

• Try a different browser
• Clear your browser's cache
• Turn off pop-up blockers in your browser
• Clear your "cookies" (some databases choke on these) - to clear for one site, directions here: how to clear your cookies from one site: https://www.beacontechnologies.com/blog/2012/10/clearing
• Disable ad or script blockers, directions here: https://globalnews.ca/pages/disable-ad-blocker/
• Enable 3rd party cookies - sometimes cookies required to display content are blocked by default in your browser
• Sign into the Cal Poly VPN: directions here: https://tech.calpoly.edu/services/vpn
• Remember, you can always go to 24/7 Live Chat help and someone may be able to assist.

TROUBLE GETTING TO FULL TEXT?

• If it is a journal, search the Journal by name on the Journals tab and see if any of the subscriptions include that date
• Look at the page numbers.  If it has an S in front of the page numbers, it may be a supplement, often not included in databases
• If it is not included, conjure up the Interlibrary Loan option by signing (in case you hadn't already) in on the record
• If you cannot conjure up the Interlibrary Loan option, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form manually by clicking here.