Skip to Main Content

Library Services During Building Transformation Project

News and updates related to accessing Library services and collections.

Service Updates

The Kennedy Library building has closed for its two-year transformation. There is no access to the Kennedy building but services are still available. There are two temporary library service points, one in Crandall Gym (bldg. 60) and one in Graphic Arts (bldg. 26). For details of services offered and service point hours, view the "Library Service Locations" tab.

Immediately below, please find updated information for general questions, and contact information for other queries. And remember, for any type of question, you can always use 24/7 Live Chat Help.  

***

You can return materials anytime in book drops located in the H10 parking lot across the street from the Kennedy building, or on Dexter Plaza (near Subway), or during open hours at the Crandall Gym Library Service Point.  Print Course Reserves should be returned to Crandall during open hours.

Request options in OneSearch for books and other physical items now route delivery to the Library Pickup Lockers on Dexter Plaza (near Subway).  See the Library Pickup Lockers page on this guide for details and instructions for the pickup lockers. 

To learn about alternative study spaces, view Temporary Locations. You can use the Waitz App to view realtime occupancy of some alternate study spaces.  Download Waitz for free from the Apple App Store or Google Play.

For student printing at self-service kiosks on campus, view Mustang Prints.  For other printing options, view Cal Poly Print and Copy.

For computers and software available at UU view Computer Labs.

If you have a question for a specific library unit, you can use the emails or phones below.

Questions about fines, book checkouts, and your library account: circulation@calpoly.edu  or call 805-756-5760

Questions about Interlibrary Loan requests: ils@calpoly.edu or call 805-756-1222

Questions about Special Collections and Archives: archives@calpoly.edu or call 805-756-2305

Questions for Librarians and Specialists: https://lib.calpoly.edu/teams/specialists/

Questions about GIS/Data: https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/DPL

Questions about tech checkout/returns (run by campus ITS, in bldg 80): Tech Rentals

If you are not sure where to direct your question, email: library@calpoly.edu 

Thanks for your patience, and we look forward to reconnecting with you in our new service points!  You can learn more about them below.

Library Service Locations and Hours

There are two main library service points, located in Crandall Gym (bldg. 60) and Graphic Arts (bldg. 26).  You can access print Course Reserves, Research Help, and Data and GIS help in Crandall.  Special Collections provides service in Graphic Arts. This page provides precise details of the hours, collections and services provided at each location.

View All Service Point Hours

Crandall Gym Service Point (Bldg 60, room 100) 

Collections Available in Crandall

  • Print Course Reserves
  • Architecture Books (NA Call Numbers)
  • New Books
  • Select Current Architecture Journals
  • Select Current Literary Journals
  • Research Help 
  • Teacher's Resource Collection Picture Books
  • Teacher's Resource Collection Spanish Books
  • Senior Projects on Microfiche
  • Print Course Reserves 

Technology Available for use in Crandall

  • 2 Microfilm Readers
  • 2 Scanning Stations
  • 2 PCs (Prioritized for Searching Library Resources; do not require log-in.). 
  • Note: NO self service printers available for use in Crandall. For other printing options, view Cal Poly Print and Copy.

Small Tech Items Available for Short-Term Checkout in Crandall

  • Chargers (phone and laptop), calculators, Mice, Adapters, DVD players, etc.
  • Call 805-756-5760 to learn if the charger, adapter, calclulator etc. that you need is available.

Seating in Crandall

  • Seating in Crandall is very limited.  The priority for the very few seats are for Course Reserves brief review and microform use.

Graphic Arts Service Point (Bldg 26, room 110F): 

In addition to these service points, library administrators and librarians are in Chase Hall (Bldg 115). 

Maps and more information on the transformation project can be found below.  

Access to Physical Collections

Access to Physical Collections 

Books and materials can be requested through OneSearch and will be delivered to the Library PickUp Lockers.  Items not in Crandall or retrievable storage are still listed in OneSearch and can be requested from other libraries. 

Kennedy Library Retrievable Collection

  • Based on high use, over 10,000 Kennedy books stored on campus can be requested for delivery to the pickup lockers.   

.Collections Available in Crandall

  • Print Course Reserves
  • Architecture Books (NA Call Numbers)
  • New Books
  • Select Current Architecture Journals
  • Select Current Literary Journals
  • Research Help 
  • Teacher's Resource Collection Picture Books
  • Teacher's Resource Collection Spanish Books
  • Senior Projects on Microfiche
  • Print Course Reserves 

Print Course Reserves

  • Available to check out at Crandall Gym.  

Special Collections and Archives