Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives

Tips and tools for researching primary sources in Special Collections and Archives and online

Summer 2022 Updates

Starting July 1, 2022, some Special Collections and Archives services and activities, including in-person research and instruction, digitization, and appraising new donations and transfers will be suspended to accommodate urgent projects. 

Virtual research appointments on zoom will still be available, as will reference photos via email.

To learn more and to be notified when certain services and activities will resume, please contact us at archives@calpoly.edu.

Schedule a Virtual Reading Room Appointment

With the Virtual Reading Room service, you can meet with archives staff to view archives materials over Zoom.

Contact us at archives@calpoly.edu to schedule a 1-hour meeting with an archives staff member. 

Contact the archives staff (archives@calpoly.edu) for help identifying materials relevant to your research or if you have questions about the Virtual Reading Room service.

image of virtual appointment set up, showing a laptop connected to a digital camera which is directed at a folder of archival material. An open archives box is in the center of the photo.a screenshot of a computer screen showing how meeting for a virtual appointment on zoom will work. The image displays a folder of archival records on the table, and a small image in the lower left corner shows the view of the archives staff person.

Schedule a Virtual Research Help Appointment

Have a question and want to chat on zoom? Schedule a zoom appointment with Laura Sorvetti, Reference Specialist, to get help with your research. If you need to meet at another time, email us at archives@calpoly.edu to set up an appointment. 

Request for reproductions for research

Special Collections and Archives also can provide you with reference photographs of archival materials for your reference and research needs. To order reproductions of materials from Special Collections and Archives for personal research use, please read and complete the Reproduction Request Form and email the form to us at archives@calpoly.edu. Requests are usually sent within 10-14 days.

Learn more about reproduction services.

Before July 1, 2022: In-Person Appointments

The archives reading room is open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9am-12pm and 1pm-4pm for research appointments, with a lunch break from noon to 1pm. At this time, we can accommodate up to two researchers in the reading room at a time.

We ask researchers to schedule an appointment at least two business days in advance so we have time to retrieve and prepare materials for your visit. Email archives@calpoly.edu to schedule an appointment.

Visit Cal Poly’s Coronavirus Information page for up-to-date information for students, staff, faculty, and community visitors.

 

Image: Photograph of the archives reading room. An archives staff person will be available to help you when you visit.