Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching San Luis Obispo History

Resources for researching San Luis Obispo County and the Central Coast

Welcome

Welcome! This guide provides an introduction to starting your research on Central Coast and San Luis Obispo County history. It is intended as a resource for Cal Poly students, faculty, and staff as well as the broader community. 

Use the tabs on the left to navigate through the pages in this guide. 

If you have questions or edits, contact Laura Sorvetti, Special Collections and Archives.

 

These slides were created for the Fall 2020 Architecture 251 and can serve as an introduction to doing research on SLO history.

Special Collections and Archives Updates during COVID-19

Special Collections is open to in-person research by appointment and zoom appointments. Learn more about appointments here.

Archives Instruction Sessions: Special Collections and Archives offers  in person, remote synchronous and remote asynchronous instruction. Contact Laura Sorvetti at lsorvett@calpoly.edu.

Library updates: Keep up to date with the library's remote and in-person services at this informational page

Intro to the archives

In July 2020, Special Collections and Archives co-presented with the San Luis Obispo History Center an introduction to doing research online. 

Presentation Slides:

Video recording: