Data & GIS Specialist
Gaps and Silences in Archives and Special Collections
While archives have been viewed as unbiased repositories of the past in its entirety, they are in fact spaces of gaps and silences. These gaps and silences are due to changing opinions of archivists have considered "of enduring value," and can reflect historical, institutional, and internalized racism, classism, sexism, and ignorance of marginalized genders and sexualities. Biases may also impact the archivist's description. Archives are not neutral.
Learn more about how to be a critical user of archives and primary sources.
Get Archives Help
Kennedy Library, Cal Poly
Demographic Data
Demographic maps and datasets
- Social Explorer interactive maps for current and historical census data (full version available for Cal Poly affiliates)
- National Historical GIS (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present.
- With the Racial Dot Map you can explore current SLO demographic data
- Data USA includes current numbers for SLO County and City
The Decennial U.S. Census is a valuable resource for local history research, including genealogy and history of sites and buildings. Learn more about the census.
Up through the 1940 census is available online for research.
- The 1940 Census is available online at the National Archives
- Census records are available through Ancestry.com ($$), and check the SLO Public Library to see if they renew their library subscription
Aggregated population data at the county-level can be found here: https://www.census.gov/prod/www/decennial.html
Visualizing Census demographic data for San Luis Obispo
Adding Context to US Census Race and Ethnicity
How does the US Census define Race and Ethnicity in 2020?
How have these definitions changed over time?
On the Census, Who checks 'Hispanic' and who checks 'White', and Why? NPR Code Switch Interview with professor Julie Dowling
Data accessed from: IPUMS NHGIS, University of Minnesota, www.nhgis.org
An introduction to Critical Race Theory in the context of public health:
Ford, C. L., & Airhihenbuwa, C. O. (2010). Critical Race Theory, Race Equity, and Public Health: Toward Antiracism Praxis. American Journal of Public Health, 100(Suppl 1), S30–S35. https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2009.171058
