Get Archives Help
Kennedy Library, Cal Poly
Gaps and Silences in Archives and Special Collections
While archives have been viewed as unbiased repositories of the past in its entirety, they are in fact spaces of gaps and silences. These gaps and silences are due to changing opinions of archivists have considered "of enduring value," and can reflect historical, institutional, and internalized racism, classism, sexism, and ignorance of marginalized genders and sexualities. Biases may also impact the archivist's description. Archives are not neutral.
Learn more about how to be a critical user of archives and primary sources.
Researching a SLO building or site
Historic records can be a rich source of research on historic sites or buildings.
Helpful information to have on a site as you conduct your research: current address, historic address, block and lot information, names of individuals and families who lived there, tract name.
General search Tools for researching a building or site in City of San Luis Obispo:
- Search across all our digitized archives
- Search the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for pre-1950 research.
- Search the digitized SLO Newspapers
- Search city directories to learn more about the address, owners, who lived and worked there (on-site print access only)
- Search census records to learn more about who lived at the house
- Reach out to the San Luis Obispo History Center, search their Online Collections Database!
- Check aerial imagery through the years
- Check with SLO County Public Works, search their historical tract maps
- Search the library catalog to see if there was a Cal Poly senior project or other publication on the building or neighborhood
Very specific turn-of-the-19th century sources that are digitized:
- 1904 Souvenir Book of San Luis Obispo featured photos of homes, businesses, and other local buildings (also explore on a digital map)
- 1883 Lithograph Collection includes illustrations of buildings on many rural properties and some commercial properties
- 1901 SLO City and County Directory lists family names and business names
Historical research reports provide information on historic areas and structures, try searching "city name" and "Historic context" online. Here are some selections for SLO city
- 1983 San Luis Obispo Historic Resources Survey (print only) has individual reports on historic structures
- 2013 Historic Context Survey (online)
Resources from Local Government
Interactive Map with Selected of historical properties from SLO City Mapping & GIS Division
Historic District boundaries from SLO City Mapping & GIS
Permits Collection
Do you think the building or site you are researching was may have a permit before 1937? The SLO Building Permits Collection contains over 4,000 building permits issued between 1906-1937 on new and existing construction in SLO City. Search the inventory to the collection at the link above, or browse the permit viewer.
1934 Application for Building Permit for Rose Freitas,
probably 868 Chorro Street, SLO Building Permits Collection.
Search Tips
Search tips:
- Address are not always assigned when the building is constructed. Try searching by block and lot information.
- Sometimes the specific address is not listed. Try phrases like "700 Block Higuera" or the cross streets
- The people who resided/owned the building may be an additional search term, so try searching names of inhabitant
