Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 100

This guide is designed to help HIST100 researchers locate University Archives collections and materials.

About University Archives

The University Archives is part of Special Collections and Archives, a department of the Kennedy Library. The University Archives was established in 1978 as the official repository for the historical records of Cal Poly.

The department is located in Room 409 on the 4th floor of the library.

Archives staff preserve, describe, digitize, and support use of University Archives collections for the purpose of preserving them and making them accessible to both the Cal Poly community and the larger community for research and other purposes.

University Archives materials are stored separately from Kennedy Library’s general collections due to their rare and unique qualities, physical condition, and/or format. Materials held in University Archives do not circulate outside the department, though many are digitized and are available for free online.

Everyone is welcome!

What to expect

  • Friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff and student assistants
  • Pencils, paper, and laptops only -- storage space provided for your belongings
  • Digital cameras allowed 
  • Materials do not circulate - look at materials in Special Collections reading room
  • Read more about our policies