Recommended Resources
Searching for Articles
Use one of the databases listed below to search for articles.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesA good place to begin looking for statistical information.
- U. S. Census BureauHome page for the U.S. Census Bureau.
Web Resources
- Food and Nutrition Information CenterProvides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Nutrition.govProviding easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
Avoiding Plaigarism
- What is Plagiarism?Information about plagiarism, its definition, and Cal Poly's disciplinary process from the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.
- Tutorial - PlagiarismA short video on plagiarism courtesy of Clemson University.
Citing Your Sources - APA Style
- APA ExamplesView examples of books, articles, websites and more in proper APA format.
- APA Formatting and Style GuideOne of the best guides to help you with APA formatting and style. Courtesy of Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- Instructions for In-Text Citations in APA FormatCourtesy of Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
