Brett Bodemer, CLA Librarian and Coordinator of Reference
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Ask Us/Research Help Desk Hours
The Ask Us/Research Help Desk is is centrally located at the Digital Scholarship Studio on Level One of Kennedy Library. Our welcoming staff and highly trained students can help you find peer-reviewed articles, navigate databases, narrow paper topics, and much, much more. Stop by and ask us questions - no appointment needed!
The desk will close at 5:00 PM Dec 12 for Winter Break. But don't forget 24/7 Live Chat is always available!
Winter Quarter Hours (January 2 - March 13)
Special Pre-Quarter Day: Friday, January 2: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Regular Schedule: (January 5 - March 21)
- Monday thru Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8 PM
- Friday: 8:00 AM - 6 PM
- Saturdays: Closed
- Sundays: Noon - 8:00 PM
- Special Hours: Monday January 19 (Closed for Martin Luther King Day)
- Monday February 16 : 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Shortened hours on President's Day)
-
FAQBrief responses to a number of basic inquiries are provided in this searchable FAQ.
Where Can I Find Further Help for My Research?
Make a personal appointment to meet with your College Librarian or Specialist.
Looking for Data, Maps, or GIS? Help available here.
To learn what databases are best for a particular topic, Research Guides.
24/7 Live Chat Help
-
24/7 Live Chat HelpOur chat is NOT AI – it is staffed by real people – our library staff, our highly trained student peer assistants (LibRATs) and academic librarians in the US and the UK.
Don't Know What Database to Use? Try the Research Guides!
-
Research GuidesThese provide live links and information for the best databases for a subject, topic, or course. Curated by our librarians and specialists.
-
Why Use Research Guides?This short video explains how Research Guides can save you time by directing you to the best databases and resources for your subject, topic, or information need.
-
Which Database?This brief video explains strategies for quickly determining which database is best for your needs.
How to Find an Article in a Particular Newspaper or Journal
-
Video :How to Find a Particular Newspaper/JournalThis 3.5 minute video shows how to find articles from specific newspapers or journals, such as NY Times or Chronicle of Higher Education via the library databases.
Search Many Databases at Once
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
-
EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
-
ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
-
OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
-
Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
-
Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
-
Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
OneSearch
-
OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
-
Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
Accessible Instruction Stuff
-
Accessibility Course Takeaways (Anonymized)Four sets of takeaways from attendees at a course for making materials accessible.
-
Accessible Digital Learning Materials Presentation with Handouts (helpful tips and how to)From CCLI presentation.
