Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
Starting points for students in the Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering degree programs
Engineering Librarian
Sarah Lester
she/her/hers
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library Room 216F
Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, BioMedical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Standards
About this guide
This guide provides starting points for students in the Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering degree program and other researchers interested in this area.
For research help, please contact Sarah Lester, Engineering Librarian or use the library's 24/7 chat help.
Research Resources for Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier provides full text for journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowInspec® is a comprehensive index to global literature in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Includes INSPEC Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids.
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (ThomasNet.com) This link opens in a new windowThomasNet is a comprehensive online directory of suppliers of building and related products. Includes supplier directory, product search, CAD models, quote service, certificate search, and industry news.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering Web Resources
- ASQFormerly the American Society for Quality, ASQ is a professional association with a remit to advance the professional development, credentials, knowledge and information services, membership community, and advocacy on behalf of its 85,000 members.
- GlobalSpecContains over 2.3 million products and over 194 million searchable product specs.
- McMaster CarrProduct Directory with nearly 500,000 items
- NIST - Systems Integration DivisionThe Systems Integration Division main purpose is to meet the measurement science and standards needs for integrating engineering information systems used in manufacturing, construction, and cyber-physical systems.
Standards
Standards provide a basis for mutual understanding, and are used to facilitate communication, measurement, commerce and manufacturing. Standards also enable companies to comply with relevant laws and regulations. This section includes standards that may be relevant for doing research in industrial and manufacturing engineering.
- OSHA standardsOSHA standards are rules that describe the methods that employers must use to protect their employees from hazards.
- ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Digital Library, also known as ASTM Compass provides access to ASTM standards, journal articles, and technical papers. ASTM stands for American Society for Testing and Materials.
Senior Projects
As part of your research you may want to review past Senior projects in Digital Commons@Cal Poly.