Biomedical Engineering
Research resources for resources for students in biomedical engineering
Engineering Librarian
Sarah Lester
she/her/hers
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library Room 216F
Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, BioMedical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Standards
About this guide
This guide highlights resources for students in biomedical engineering and highlights resources useful for senior projects and master's research.
For research help, please contact Sarah Lester, Engineering Librarian or use the library's 24/7 chat help.
Biomedical Engineering Resources
When starting your research in biomedical engineering, your best bets are PubMed or Web of Science.
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowThe American Society of Mechanical Engineers publishes technical material on subject areas such as biomechanical engineering, heat transfer, fluids engineering, aerospace, nanotechnology, transportation and more. Cal Poly users may access ASME's Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex on Engineering Village is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Help setting links to access Cal Poly resources is available here. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science, telecommunications, electronics and related disciplines.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowInspec® is a comprehensive index to global literature in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Includes INSPEC Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids.
- IOPscience This link opens in a new windowIOPscience provides access to Institute of Physics journals covering biomedical engineering, condensed matter, graphene, materials, nanotechnology, quantum information and semiconductors in the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, biological physics, chemistry, engineering, environment, mathematics, physics and medical physics.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n, an updated and improved version of SciFinder Scholar, has permanently replaced the classic interface. In addition to the chemical reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in SciFinder Scholar, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing.
Users must create an account before accessing SciFinder-n or SciFinder Scholar but the same credentials will work on both versions. Go here to create a new account.
If you have not accessed your account in the last 18 months, you will not be able to log in until you have contacted the CAS Customer Center and asked them to reinstate your account. Read the Scifinder-n Support FAQ.
Concerned about account privacy? View the CAS privacy policy. - Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Digital Commons @ Cal Poly
The Cal Poly Digital Commons is the repository for student senior projects and master's thesis. You can use these sources below to review research from past student work.
Related guides
These additional research guides may be helpful for interdisciplinary topics.