Biology Research Guide
Philip & Christina Bailey College of Science & Mathematics Librarian
Jeanine Scaramozzino
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library
Building 25 Room 203
Cal Poly State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Building 25 Room 203
Cal Poly State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Got questions?
- 24/7 Live Chat with a human librarian
- BCSM Librarian Office Hours Fall 2023: Wednesday, 1:10-2pm, BCSM Advising Office
- Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live Chat Help! (2:15)
Article Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. There is currently no way to only search for peer-reviewed materials. Get more specific resource results by using the Google Scholar Advanced search feature. And always access Google Scholar through the library database URL to gain access to materials the library has subscribed to.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (All Databases) provides a unified search across all Web of Science indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts & Global Health, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological record. Web of Science (All Databases) also includes indexes of scholarly literature from Korea, Russia, Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
- medRxiv and bioRxiv Pre-print/Pre-peer-reviewed articleThis source covers all aspects of biology. These tools provide in-progress research, preliminary data, etc. that has NOT been peer-reviewed. This platform allows for other researchers to comment and ask questions about the research before it is ready for formal publication. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information.
Life Sciences Databases & Websites
- WormBookWormBook is a comprehensive, open-access collection of original, peer-reviewed chapters covering topics related to the biology of Caenorhabditis elegans and other nematodes. Wormbook also contains: WormMethods, a collection of protocols for nematode researchers; WormHistory, personal perspectives on C. elegans research; and the Worm Breeder's Gazette, an informal, non-refereed, biannual newsletter for the interchange of ideas and information related to C. elegans and other nematodes.
- AvibaseAvibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 59 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
- The Internet Bird Collection + The Macaulay LibraryThe Internet Bird Collection is a collective project with two goals: to document all of the world’s birds through videos, photos, or audio recordings; and to capture as much geographic variation and behavior as possible for every species. This valuable multimedia resource for birders, ornithologists, and conservationists contains over 460,000 pieces of media, representing more than 96% of all the world’s birds: 300,000 photos of 10,000 species; 20,000 audio recordings of 7,000 species; and video of 9,200 species (85% of all the world’s birds).
- AquaDocsAquaDocs is the joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) and the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers (IAMSLIC) with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. It is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments and includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. Communities included in the database include: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Oceania, and more.
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowBirds of the World (formerly Birds of North America) is a research database that brings together scholarly content from Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
Bergey's Manuals
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 1The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria, 2nd edition (2001)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 2, Part AThe Proteobacteria, Introductory Essays, 2nd edition (2005)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 2, Part BThe Proteobacteria, 2nd edition (2005)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 2, Part CThe Proteobacteria, 2nd edition (2005)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 3The Firmicutes, 2nd edition (2009)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 4The Bacteroidetes, Spirochaetes, Tenericutes (Mollicutes), Acidobacteria, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Dictyoglomi, Gemmatimonadetes, Lentisphaerae, Verrucomicrobia, Chlamydiae, and Planctomycetes, 2nd edition (2010)
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, V. 5, Part A & BThe Actinobacteria, 2nd edition (2012)