Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics

Databases - Locate Journal Articles

Science Direct
Use this database of journal articles to search economics, econometrics, and finance journals.

Elsevier Economics and Finance
Scholarly journal articles on economics and finance.

EconLIT
Articles on economics from around the world.

JSTOR
JSTOR includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics.

Sage Journals
Sage Journals provides full text articles from over 400 journals - an excellent business research tool that includes many scholarly publications.

Data Sets

Global Market Information Database
Covers world consumer markets for thousands of products and services including 1,200+ economic and demographic parameters for 210 countries. About GMID.pdf

 

Economagic
This site is meant to be a comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. This site (set of web pages) was started in 1996 to help students in an Applied Forecasting class. The idea was to give students easy access to large amounts of data, and to be able to quickly get charts of that data. This is also useful during class, so that when we use the computer and overhead projector facility in class, we can quickly retrieve series and do manipulations in class.

At this time, there are more than 200,000 time series for which data and custom charts can be retrieved. Though the greatest utility of this site is the vast number of economic time series, and the easily modified charts of that same data, an overlooked facility of great utility is the availability of Excel files for all series.

The majority of the data is USA data. The core data sets involve US macroeconomic data (that is, for the whole US), but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.

 

Factiva
A joint venture between Dow Jones & Reuters, Factiva provides an unmatched collection of world-class global content powered by content management and integration services.

Select Subject > Economic News > Economic Performance

  • Agricultural production
  • Bankruptcy figures
  • Budget account
  • Business sentiment
  • Capacity utilization
  • Car registration/vehicle sales
  • Consumer credit/expenditure/savings
  • Consumer sentiment
  • Economic growth
  • Employment costs/productivity
  • Employment/unemployment
  • Factory orders/durable goods
  • Government borrowing requirement
  • Home sales/housing affordability
  • Housing starts/construction figures
  • Index of leading economic indicators
  • Industrial production
  • Inflation prices
  • Inventories
  • Money supply
  • Mortgage applications/refinancing
  • Personal income/average earnings
  • Reserve assets
  • Retail/wholesale sales
  • Service sector performance
  • Trade figures