This guide is specially curated by by your Architecture & Environmental Design Librarian to provide basic architecture research guidance PLUS key resources closely related to built environment research.
ARTstor is a cross-discipline image library supporting education and research. Its JSTOR Forum community collections feature includes thousands of images added by Cal Poly. ARTstor images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research, including classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Art & Architecture Complete covers antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design and related subjects. It provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as indexing and abstracts for additional academic journals and other publications. The database also provides an Image Collection.
ARCH 131 Library Research Part 1/2: Intro and Citation Tool (7:46)
ARCH 131 Library Research Part 2/2: Crandall Gym NA Book Guidelines (8:03)
Searching for and Finding Physical Books in Crandall Gym (Bldg. 60) (4:27)
Please do not re-shelve books yourself. Simply leave them on top of the shelf as close to where you found them as possible.
Please do not check out books that assist with the assignment prompts.
This will allow the rest of the studios to access them during the assignment window.
OneSearch to Find Articles (video)
OneSearch to Find eBooks
Architecture Articles - The Basics
Architecture Articles - Filtering for the Best Results