Singh GEOG 350 - Social Sciences - (Anthropology, Geography, Sociology, Social Work) - Research Guides at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

Additional Guides: Peer Review and Citation Help

GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Using the subject headings in this database will help you brainstorm & narrow your topic.

You can filter on the left for "Peer Reviewed" content.

Google Scholar

Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.

Hint: if an article has been cited a lot of times that is a good sign of its worth.

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
EBSCOhost (All Databases)
EBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
ProQuest (All Databases)
ProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.

OneSearch
Use relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
Using OneSearch
This guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
Open Library
Some books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)
3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.