Europa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
How can I tell if a source is Academic? Several clues, taken together, can help you tell.
Written by an expert on that subject, often with a Phd, and university affiliation.
Whether a book or an article, LOTS and LOTS of CITATIONS! (just what you love doing, too, no doubt.)
Length of articles - not short, often quite lengthy.
Language is scholarly and claims are usually expressed moderately.
Peer-Review (for book publishers and journals) is the gold standard: other experts have read and critiqued for rewriting or outright rejection. Some databases let you limit the search to content from Peer Reviewed journals.
EBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
Use the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
Use relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
Some books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.