Find Scores in Kennedy Library
The link above is pre-set to search for scores in Kennnedy Library. After you click on it, to search WITHIN the results, go to ADVANCED search, and enter your search terms in the SECOND line of the advanced search interface.
Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
CLA Librarian
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 LIVE CHAT at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Video: Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live ChatThis 120 second video explains how 5 minutes of chat can save you 15 minutes of agony!
Search Many Article Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here. - ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
Good Places to Search One at a Time
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of several high quality music encyclopedias and provides biographical coverage of 22,000 composers, writers, and performers, as well as information on music terminology and topical essays.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes international music publications in over 500 scholarly journals and in more than 100 languages, published since 1967.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles for music, published from 1979 to present. No full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full-text of older scholarly journals in most fields. The coverage for each journal begins with volume 1. Because JSTOR is an archival database, issues are not available for the latest 3-5 years.
Find historic Book Reviews/Art Reviews/Play Reviews/Movie Reviews
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Limit your search by date, type your subject in "quote marks " and add the word review.
Example 1: "Armory Show" review
Example 2 "Jackson Pollock" review
This trick works well in the following:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowBe sure and select ALL databases on this page and then you will search 15 EBSCO databases at once.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBe sure and pick ALL the databases so you can seach ALL the Proquest databases.
More Books
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window100s of libraries in North America - and we share most print materials!
