Engineering Librarian
Sarah Lester
she/her/hers
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library Room 216F
Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, BioMedical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Standards
About this guide
This guide provides starting points for students in the Materials Engineering program and other researchers interested in these areas.
For research help, please contact Sarah Lester, Engineering Librarian or use the library's 24/7 chat help.
Materials Engineering Databases
- Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowThe Materials Science & Engineering Database includes METADEX, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
- IOPscience This link opens in a new windowIOPscience provides access to Institute of Physics journals covering biomedical engineering, condensed matter, graphene, materials, nanotechnology, quantum information and semiconductors in the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, biological physics, chemistry, engineering, environment, mathematics, physics and medical physics.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys provides chemical properties and preparations for inorganic and organic compounds. It is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, physical property, and reaction. This is a combination of retired databases Beilstein (organic reactions, spectra, properties, etc.), Gmelin (inorganic) and Chemistry Patent Database. This database includes a chemical drawing program.
- SAE Aerospace and Vehicle Standards, Journals, and Technical Papers This link opens in a new windowSAE MOBILUS provides standards and journals related to the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Cal Poly users may access Ground Vehicle Standards, USCAR Reports, Aerospace Standards, and Aerospace Material Specifications, as well as all SAE international journals from 2013 to present and all SAE Technical Papers from 1990 to present.
Materials Property Data Sources
Licensed Databases
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowASM Handbooks Online is a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
- Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowThe Materials Science & Engineering Database includes METADEX, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
Public Resources
- Materials ProjectThe Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as tools to inspire and design novel materials.
*Note this free resources requires registration - MatWebMatWeb's database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Materials Engineering Web Resources
- Biomaterials NetworkBiomat.net is aimed at linking the Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering community worldwide. This site provides updated news in the field, delivered through a monthly newsletter, and also a collection of selected internet links related to Biomaterials Science and Tissue Engineering
- nanoHUBnanoHUB offers simulation tools that allow you to learn about and simulate nanotechnology devices. Resources come from contributors in the nanoscience community.
Senior Projects
Digital Commons is where you can find examples of previous work or research past senior projects
