Recommended Resources
Websites
- FoodSafety.govFoodSafety.gov is the gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies including the FDA, USDA, and CDC.
- Food Safety - Centers for Disease Control and PreventionInformation and reports about food-borne illness, outbreaks, and recalls.
- USDA - Food Safety and Inspection ServiceThe Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) ensures that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.
- The Bad Bug BookHandbook of Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
- The Prokaryotes (Volume 4) - Bacteria: Firmicutes, Cyanobacteria (2006)Relevant Chapters:
Listeria monocytogenes and the Genus Listeria
An Introduction to the Family Clostridiaceae
Neurotoxigenic Clostridia - The Prokaryotes (Volume 6) - Proteobacteria: Gamma Subclass (2006)Relevant Chapters:
The Genus Escherichia
The Genus Salmonella - Google Advanced SearchA more powerful way to search in Google. Find exact phrases, limit by language or domain, and more.
Searching for Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowFSTA focuses on pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition. It covers the complete food manufacturing cycle, from initial market research to final packaging, and includes research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream provides a large collection of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a comprehensive source of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Citing Your Sources
You are expected to cite your sources in the style used by the Journal of Food Science. The following resources provide instructions and examples of how to properly format your sources in this style.
- Journal of Food Science Instructions to AuthorsInformation about formatting references in text and in the References section.
- Journal of Food Science Example ArticleView formatting for references in text and in the References Section.
- Abbreviations for Journal TitlesUse this database to find journal title abbreviations for specific journals by title.
