COVID-19: Limited Access to Tangible Kennedy Collections and CSU+ through "Contactless Pick-up"
95% of Kennedy Library collections are online resources, so for these you are in luck no matter where you are located! Currently, physical materials from Kennedy Library (excluding print Course Reserves) can be requested and checked out through contactless pickup. Some items can also be requested and checked out using CSU+. Such access to physical items will not be as rapid as under normal circumstances, so this is not a good option if you are in a hurry. For items held outside the CSU system, ILL can provide articles, select book chapters, and other materials electronically, but no physical items can be requested at this time. For details regarding "contactless pick-up" see the Kennedy COVID-19 Guide at:https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/COVID-19
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 live chat at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. eBook content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
Chicano Database is a bibliographic index covering a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.
Kanopy is an educational streaming video service that features documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on a wide range of topics. Videos may be licensed for classroom use, and instructors can create custom playlists.
A selection of films is available on demand: titles in the MEF Media Studies & Communication and California Newsreel collections have been licensed through June 1, 2022; films in the Criterion, A24, and FilmRise collections are available through June 30, 2021. Previously licensed videos in any Kanopy collection are available for one calendar year. Check OneSearch for availability and expiration date information.
Due to the high cost of this resource, access to the remaining video content must be requested by a faculty member. Requests will be considered and responded to within 3 working days. If approved, that video content will then be available to all Cal Poly students, faculty and staff for the term of the license (typically one year.)
Searches many online encyclopedias at once. Type in "Multicultural Encyclopedia" and get results from The Multicultural Encyclopedia of America. Then, in search box on left, type in keyword, such as Tonga , to go to relevant results.