Research Guides: An English Research Guide: ENGL 310

Purpose of this English 310 Guide

This concise guide collocates database resources to support various iterations of ENGLISH 310. In addition to broad searching that yields access to traditional scholarly content, it points to databases for business news, industry research, career research, and statistics.

Search Many Databases at Once

EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.

OneSearch
Use relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
Using OneSearch
This guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch
3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
Open Library
Some books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)
3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.

Communication Source

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Business News(y) Research

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream provides a large collection of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Industry Research

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.

First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor's Passport database (formerly called GMID) is an industry research database that provides international and (select) local statistics, reports and ongoing comment on products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, and social trends. This database is co-sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences and the Orfalea College of Business.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.

Career Research

First Research This link opens in a new window
Mergent's First Research knowledge tools are useful for learning a company's key business issues. Tools include Industry Segments, State Profiles, and Call Prep Sheets.

First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.

Bureau of Labor and Industry Occupational Outlook Handbook
This provides current information about wages, prospects and trends for occupations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.

Quickly find Statistics on Government Sites

Google

Add the word

statistics

to any keyword search and then add the following site and filetype tricks. For example:

traffic accidents statistics site:.gov filetype:pdf

Remember, no space between the colons, and don't forget the period before gov or edu