An English Research Guide
Native California Languages
World Languages
- The Sounds of the World's LanguagesImages used for screen displays here are the property of Jenny Ladefoged and are made freely available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Sharealike 3.0 Unported License (CC-BY-SA).
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowPhonetic Transcriptions of Foreign Language, Vocal Music and Poetry, featuring IPA transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Online)
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by ISBN: 1579583911Publication Date: 2004-12-27Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Print)
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by ISBN: 0080442994Publication Date: 2005-11-24The first edition of ELL (1993, Ron Asher, Editor) was hailed as "the field's standard reference work for a generation". The multi-volume second edition is even more exhaustive and goes into intense detail.
OneSearch: Articles and Books
Individual Databases with Stellar Linguistics Content
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIn addition to simple keyword searching, you can search by the various subdivisions of linguistics by browsing "linguistics" in their THESAURUS, and then clicking on the one(s) you want.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and other content as well.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and other content as well.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAfter simple keyword searching, use suggested subject headings immediately above the result list, or open Subjects on the left for other possible subject headings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowTo get most relevant results, before entering your search terms, scroll down the landing page to "Narrow by Discipline" and check LINGUISTICS.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.