Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education & Liberal Studies Research Guide

About this Guide

The left side navigation of this webpage (i.e. guide) has a number of tabs that link to information about subject specific article databases, websites, e-books, etc. that can be accessed through the Library; links to international information resources; information that will allow you to review principles of research and how to find stuff (handouts, tutorials, videos, homework suggestions, specific database instruction); and the many ways to get help with research and assignments. Please be aware that many of these resources are only available to the Cal Poly community and require portal credentials for access.

Primary Article Databases

Note: Search SPORTDiscusCINHAL Plus, PsycInfo, ERIC, and Academic Search Premier, which all use the EBSCOhost search platform, in any combination at once. Go to one of the databases and click "choose databases" and mark the ones you are interested in. It will list the various limits you can impose for each database.

Library & Resource Updates

  • Inspec (subscription), GeoRef (subscription), and GeoBase (AY 2022-2023) will now be hosed on Compendex (Engineering Village). 15 Aug 2022
  • Due to a staffing shortage and the schedule for the library renovation, the library will not have the personnel available to process physical course reserves during AY 22-23. The potential to relocate library services such as physical course reserves during the renovation remains one of many projects to be resolved. Online information about course reservesalternative course reserve options, and the library renovation are regularly updated. 10 Aug 2022

  • Updates on the University's Renovation of Building 35. Construction timeline March 2023-2025.  3 Aug 2022

  • As of July 28th all books from Oxford Scholarship Online, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Handbooks Online, Very Short Introductions, Oxford Medicine Online, Oxford Clinical Psychology, and the AMA Manual of Style will be available in a single place .Check in OneSearch. 19 Jul 2022
  • The MIT Press will publish its full list of 2022 scholarly monographs and edited collections open access. Check in OneSearch. 18 Jul 2022
  • New Teach and Learn Modules offer over 175 pre-built learning tools, that provide zero text cost options, that can easily be integrated into your institution’s LMS.  These new Teach and Learn Modules can be used as lecture enhancements, group study projects, or as examples of what can be done with Social Explorer to improve data literacy and critical thinking skills. Social Explorer provides access to the entire US Census data from 1790 to 2010, the entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2011 and more data from a number of sources. 21 Jun 2022