Engineering Librarian
Sarah Lester
she/her/hers
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library Room 216F
Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, BioMedical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Standards
About this guide
This guide provides starting points for students in the Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Software Engineering degree programs and other researchers interested in these areas.
For research help, please contact Sarah Lester, Engineering Librarian or use the library's 24/7 chat help.
Research Resources for Computer Science, Engineering, and Software
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowACM Digital Library covers the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowarXiv is an electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
- CiteSeerXA scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Safari Books, O'Reilly Online Learning provides access to professional books on topics including UX design, leadership, project management, teams, agile development, analytics, and core programming. In addition to ebooks, learning paths, case studies, and video courses are available.
Other sources for Engineering articles and conference proceedings
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science, telecommunications, electronics and related disciplines, including journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), John Wiley & Sons, and MIT Press.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowInspec® is a comprehensive index to global literature in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Includes INSPEC Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Materials Property Data Sources
Licensed Databases
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowASM Handbooks Online is a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
- Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowThe Materials Science & Engineering Database includes METADEX, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.
Public Resources
- Materials ProjectThe Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as tools to inspire and design novel materials.
*Note this free resources requires registration - MatWebMatWeb's database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Senior Projects
As part of your research you may want to review past Senior projects in Digital Commons@Cal Poly.
