Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Finding materials and standards

Find materials data

Library databases

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbooks Online is a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys provides chemical properties and preparations for inorganic and organic compounds. It is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, physical property, and reaction. This is a combination of retired databases Beilstein (organic reactions, spectra, properties, etc.), Gmelin (inorganic) and Chemistry Patent Database. This database includes a chemical drawing program.

Web resources

nanoHUB
nanoHUB offers simulation tools that allow you to learn about and simulate nanotechnology devices. Resources come from contributors in the nanoscience community.
Biomaterials Network
Biomat.net is aimed at linking the Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering community worldwide. This site provides updated news in the field, delivered through a monthly newsletter, and also a collection of selected internet links related to Biomaterials Science and Tissue Engineering

Finding standards

The library provides access to a number of standards in digital format. The following databases provide access to those subscriptions. If you need help locating a standard, please contact your Engineering Librarian.

ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Digital Library includes the complete Book of Standards as well as access to every book, paper, and journal article published by ASTM. ASTM Digital Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines.
Enabling 3rd party cookies may be required.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science, telecommunications, electronics and related disciplines, including journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), John Wiley & Sons, and MIT Press.
SAE Aerospace and Vehicle Standards, Journals, and Technical Papers This link opens in a new window
SAE MOBILUS provides standards and journals related to the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Cal Poly users may access Ground Vehicle Standards, USCAR Reports, Aerospace Standards, and Aerospace Material Specifications, as well as all SAE international journals from 2013 to present and all SAE Technical Papers from 1990 to present.