AGB 301 - Food and Fiber Marketing - AGB 301 - Food and Fiber Marketing - Research Guides at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

Recommended Resources

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.

First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.

Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides access to historical annual reports and SEC filings for 10,000 U.S. public companies. Also provides access to reports for international companies through the International Company Data database

Market Share Reporter (via Gale Directory Library)
This title is now accessed as part of the Gale Directory Library database. Once in the database, select Advanced Search and select the Market Share Reporter checkbox under the "Select one or more directories" drop-down menu.

more... less...

Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Passport (Euromonitor)
Euromonitor's Passport database (formerly called GMID) is an industry research database that provides international and (select) local statistics, reports and ongoing comment on products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, and social trends. This database is co-sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences and the Orfalea College of Business.

**GMID Interface Update
GMID will release an updated user interface October, 2021. This video highlights the changes.

MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic is a research report database covering market intelligence on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.

Google News
Google News is a news aggregator and app developed by Google. It presents a continuous, customizable flow of articles organized from thousands of publishers and magazines.

MRI Simmons
MRI Simmons provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences of consumers. CROSSTAB reports may be saved or exported. Note: Saved CROSSTAB reports are accessible to all users. Exporting your work is strongly recommended.

Simultaneous users limited to 20.

MRI Simmons Tutorials

Accessing MRI SImmons
This is the first in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users at Cal Poly how to access this licensed resource.
Using MRI Simmons Quick Reports
This is the second in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how to view demographic and psychographic profiles of groups of interest, using Quick Reports.
Using Crosstab in MRI Simmons
This is the third in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how use Crosstab to examine relationships among particular responses in the survey data.

MRI Simmons User Guide
More detailed instructions for using quick reports, crosstab, and more in MRI Simmons.

How to Interpret MRI Simmons Crosstabs

Avoiding Plagiarism

Academic Integrity at Cal Poly (CAP 681)

Citing Sources Using APA Style

Citing Databases

As noted in the guidance from the American Psychological Association, below, it is rarely helpful to cite a database (because most works are discoverable via more than one database). An exception is when the database contains proprietary information that cannot be accessed in another way, such as some of the business resources Cal Poly subscribes to.

APA Style Guidance on Citing Databases

Guidance on how to cite such sources is not as detailed as for other kinds of information, so in some cases you (or your instructor) must choose an approach, with the goal of presenting enough information for the reader to locate your source material.

For MRI Simmons reports, you can follow APA guidelines for a dataset.

Examples are linked on this external library page: https://libguides.stthomas.edu/c.php?g=612648&p=4280359