Construction Management
Zotero Citation Management Software
- Zotero
Zotero is a free tool that lets you save, cite and manage just about any format of information. You can create separate folders for your research and, since it is hosted remotely, you can access it anywhere, and create bibliographies in a wide range of citation styles. - Introduction to Zotero (University of Chicago)Here's a helpful, concise 15-minute tutorial on installing, saving articles, and inserting citations in Zotero.
Choosing a Database
Different databases have different specialties. Before getting started, CM researchers have to decide whether their topic of interest falls under the more engineering-based aspects of CM, the business/management aspects, or the architectural aspects.
For another way to list recommended CM databases, click here: Databases A-Z filtered for Construction Management.
Construction Materials and Engineering-Related Topics
- Engineering VillageEngineering Village2 offers access to Compendex, the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering literature, containing references to over 13 million citations from 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and reports. PLEASE NOTE: Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality.
Management & Business-Related Topics:
- ABI/INFORMABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. More than half of the articles are available in full-text or full-image.
- Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,200 journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Sustainability/Green Topics
- GreenFileGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- BuildingGreen.comBuilding Green is a wide-ranging sustainable building website, "the leading, authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings"