More Books and ebooks - Go Deeper
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window100s of libraries in North America and you can order materials via Interlibrary Loan.
- Open LibraryLarge list of books, many available freely online through controlled Digital Lending, some items can be "borrowed" online for days or even 1 hour.
- Google BooksGreat way to identify books; some older ones available freely online.
Good Databases for Searching One at a Time
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowBAS contains citations for humanities and social science works pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLots of great journals published by John Hopkins University Press!
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has LOTS of scholarly articles going way back. To limit the results, try putting one or more of your search terms in a "Title" and not a "Keyword" search.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMany full-text articles, some from core scholarly journals, but others from popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
- Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
