Primary source digital collection for researchers studying the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama.

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files to create a primary source representation of historical events.

This primary source collection contains the complete records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs’ superintendents from 1813 to 1880. These documents cover not only encounters between indigenous people and the U.S. government, but also accounts of Native American cultures during a time when forced relocation and conflict were transforming their lives.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. This primary source collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

A primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left; and National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985, focusing on programs and services provided to migrant workers during these years.

Calisphere provides free access to California collections of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, and musical recordings, digitized and contributed by California universities, libraries, and museums. The content is publicly available for research, teaching, and private study.