Asian Americans: Kennedy Primary Source Databases
- Asian American Drama (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAsian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
- Gale Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowA primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left; and National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985, focusing on programs and services provided to migrant workers during these years.
- Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946, Field Basic Documentation is a primary source database for scholars interested in better understanding the World War II incarceration of Japanese American citizens and residents. The War Relocation Authority (WRA) was a government agency tasked with the day-to-day running of the 10 incarceration camps from 1942-1946.
- Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Primary source database drawn from the records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration.
Find Digitized Images and Materials From the Online Archive of California (OAC)
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowCalisphere provides free access to California collections of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, and musical recordings, digitized and contributed by California universities, libraries, and museums. The content is publicly available for research, teaching, and private study.
