Research Guides: ENGL 147: Writing Arguments About STEM: Translation Project Resources

Translation Project Resources

Databases

You can find STEM-focused peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings, and trade publication articles in the databases below.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.

Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science, telecommunications, electronics and related disciplines, including journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), John Wiley & Sons, and MIT Press.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (All Databases) provides a unified search across all Web of Science indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts & Global Health, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological record. Web of Science (All Databases) also includes indexes of scholarly literature from Korea, Russia, Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books primarily in the fields of science, technology, and health. The site also provides full-text access to a modest number of e-textbooks.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.

Patents

Visit the Patents Research Guide for resources that will help you understand, search, and access patents.

Search Strategies

For a more precise search, identify database-specific subject headings (also called subject terms or index terms) to use in addition to concept keywords. In some engineering databases, like Engineering Village, subject headings are referred to as controlled vocabulary.

Controlled Terms Example
For example, a search for "robotic bees" in Engineering Village included this article in the results list. The record provides a list of controlled terms used to describe the article. The controlled term "motion control" is similar to "robotic bees" and could be used in additional searches.