Top Nine Business Resources: HOW TO SEARCH

This page is to help you learn how to search the top 9 business databases: https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/c.php?g=1025576 

If you need help with your search please contact me, Mark Bieraugel, by email, mbieraug@calpoly.edu

MRI Simmons/Simmons Insight YouTube TUTORIALS

• Accessing MRI SImmons

  This is the first in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users at Cal Poly how to access this licensed resource.

• Using MRI Simmons Quick Reports

  This is the second in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how to view demographic and psychographic profiles of groups of interest, using Quick Reports. 

• How to Make and Read a Quick Report (website): This guide also has an example of a citation for a MRI Simmons quick report. Very useful walk through of how to create one. 

• Using Crosstab in MRI Simmons

  This is the third in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how use Crosstab to examine relationships among particular responses in the survey data.

• MRI Simmons User Guide

  More detailed instructions for using quick reports, crosstab, and more in MRI Simmons.

Passport

1. Search by industry (wine, dog food, eyewear), or by company name, or even by a retail trend (virtual reality).  You can also hover over the INDUSTRIES tab at the top of the page and click on your industry to get you to a page full links to statistics and analysis.
2. There are two main types of results you can when you search this resource: statistics and analysis. After you search you’ll get the statistics results. Click on the ANALYSIS tab to get to reports and articles.
3. This is an international database, so it helps to narrow your search by adding in US to your industry search, like CAT FOOD IN THE US, DOG FOOD IN THE US, EYEWEAR IN THE US.
4. Once you click on a report, it is super helpful to download the report and save it so you can use it later. Use the DOWNLOAD tab.
5. Search by:
   1. Industry name (PET FOOD, BEVERAGES)
   2. Company name (PETCO, PETSMART)
   3. Demographic (BOOMER, GENERATION X, MILLENNIAL, GENERATION Z)
   4. Packaging

Search Page

First Research

From the library's website you'll get to the Mergent Intellect page. Scroll down to get to a link to First Research. 

1. Find search box
2. Search by keyword using the name of your target industry, or a company name within that industry
3. Or you could click on the link below the search box “BROWSE INDUSTRY PROFILES” and then scan through the profiles to pick the industry report you’re looking for
4. Once you find your industry report, look at the left hand side and there you’ll find parts of SWOT (strengths/weaknesses/opportunities/threats) analysis under these sections of the report: Critical Issues, Business Challenges, Business Trends, and Industry Opportunities
5. A reminder: any parts of the report can be used for your assignments
6. A second reminder: First Research has 380 reports on different industries, so your industry may not have a report

At First Research you’ll be immediately directed to a centralized search box that allows you to search for Industry Profiles by keyword. You could also search by using a company name. Alternatively, you can click on Browse Industry Profiles to search by sector (for example, Construction or Manufacturing) and choose the specific industry you wish to target within that category.

Search Page

CITATION for First Research reports
Chicago Style:
Footnote:
3 First Research, "Coffee & Tea Manufacturing," July 2020, accessed September 2021. 
Bibliography:
First Research. "Coffee & Tea Manufacturing." July 2020, accessed September 2021

Mergent Online

Mergent Online's Basic search lets you search for publicly traded company information by company name or ticker symbol. Using the company’s ticker symbol you narrow your search and get just one result.

Search Page

Mergent Intellect

The Mergent Intellect resource includes data on private and public companies in the United States. It also includes demographic data. To search for a company, just type the name of the company or the ticker symbol if it is a publicly traded company.

Rasmussen University librarians made a helpful video tutorial on Mergent Intellect: https://rasmussen.libanswers.com/faq/158986#:~:text=Mergent%20Intellect%20can%20also%20be,appears%2C%20and%20select%20Mergent%20Intellect.

Statista

1. To search Statista just type in a word or two. While you’re typing you’ll see dynamic suggestions to help you enter a useful word to search for. You can search for an exact phrase by putting in quotes around your search, for example, “CAT TREATS”
2. To refine your search use the checkboxes on the left to narrow by content type, by country (helpful as this is an international database), by publication date. 
3. Once find a chart you like, you can click on the  quotation mark to get your chart’s citation in APA, MLA, and more formats
4. To download a chart, click on one of the four download types on the right: PDF for a well, PDF! XLS for an Excel spreadsheet. PNG for an image of the chart. PPT for a Powerpoint slide with different versions of your chart data, super cool!
5. Statista is a great source for who uses what social media, just search for each social media company (TIK-TOK, Pinterest, Instagram, etc) and look for the age range, etc chart. 

Statista made a 3-minute video showing you the best way to search and find fantastic data!

https://www.statista.com/getting-started/working-with-statista-tips-for-better-search-results

MarketResearch.com

1. Search by
   1. Industry (PET FOOD, BEVERAGES)
   2. Demographic (BOOMER, GENERATION X, MILLENNIAL, GENERATION Z)
   3. Company name (PETCO, PETSMART)
   4. Instead of searching you can also just click on your broad industry or the demographic  link below the search box to see what is published in your topic area
2. Once you find a report feel free to download and save it to use for later. You can download as many reports as you want, and can even just use one piece of data from a report

ABI/Inform

1. For ABI/Inform you’re searching a lot of articles, so make your search VERY specific. For example, I’m interested in searching for cat treats which treat hairballs, which cats vomit up after licking themselves. Your search could focus on to learning more about a competitor, researching your industry,  understanding customers/demographic. You will need to try a few searches to get closer to what you need.
2. Searching for articles on your competitors can help you to understand their products, strategy, SWOT, and marketing efforts.
3. Once you find an article you like look for the Life Changing Button® to get the APA or MLA citation you need to cite that article you’re using. Often the button looks like quotation marks.

​​​​​​​Search Screen

Business Source Premier

1. For Business Source Premier you’re searching a lot of articles, so make your search VERY specific. For example, I’m interested in searching for cat treats which treat hairballs, that cats vomit up after licking themselves. Your search should be specific to learn more about a competitor, your industry, customers/demographic data. You will need to try a few searches to get closer to what you need.
2. Once you find an article you like look for the Life Changing Button® to get the APA or MLA citation you need to cite that article you’re using. Often the button looks like quotation marks “

Citation Button!