Special Collections and Archives cares for several collections that relate to architect Julia Morgan. 

Types of materials include:

• architectural drawings
• correspondence with clients and colleagues
• photographs
• family and educational records
• Biographer Sara Holmes Boutelle research files
• Julia Morgan Online exhibit and Kennedy Library’s traveling exhibit

Julia Morgan studio portrait, by Boyé Studio, circa 1926.

Julia Morgan Papers, Special Collections and Archives, Cal Poly ID 010-1-h-12-13

Over 5,000 items from the Julia Morgan collections are digitized and available online. 

Search the Morgan collections in the Online Archive

Learn more about searching the Online Archive

Front Facade, Casa Grande, San Simeon, by Julia Morgan.

Julia Morgan Papers,  010-5-i-74-01-01

The library has books, journals, and research papers on Julia Morgan, most which also feature materials from the archives at Cal Poly. Some of these publications are located in Special Collections and can be requested to the reading room. You can get a start by browsing the materials in OneSearch, the library's catalog.

A few selected publications we start with:

• Sara Holmes Boutelle, Julia Morgan: Architect. Revised Edition, 1995.
• Victoria Kastner's research
• Karen McNeill's research

A nice place to start with a podcast, listen to the 2021 New Angle Beverly Willis episode on Julia Morgan.

Expand your search, learn more at Librarian Jesse Vestermark's pages on finding secondary sources.