Search for Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles for Your Literature Review
Going though your Cal Poly portal, click on the LIBRARY tab, then in the search box type in the name of resource you'd like to use. For example type in ECONLIT. When you are in the database, use your search terms to find articles on your topic.
EconLit contains references to economic literature, including citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. eBook content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
New content alert! The library has recently purchased a large collection of eBooks in the areas of literature, history, and sociology.
BAO is a Web-based tool for accessing location-based demographic, marketing and business data, for detailed insights about consumers, their lifestyles, buying behavior, and business locations.http://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/gis/BAO (email with request to create a log-in)
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provides access to a vast archive of social science data (demographic, survey, behavioral, housing, etc.). Use of these data requires SPSS, SAS, or similar software. This database is sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts.
For special expertise with the database, contact Prof. Chris Den Hartog.
RAND California provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues, as well as access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
Social Explorer provides access to the entire US Census data from 1790 to 2010, the entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2011 and more data from a number of sources. Users can create maps and use data visualization tools and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can also graph and chart data, export, save, and print maps and reports, and create multi-map presentations with an interactive slideshow tool.
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
Get Helping Finding Data Sets
Students can set up an appointment for more in-depth help on finding data. Russ White's hours will be posted here, along with our student Peer Assistants