In-Class Activity
Need Help
- Online Help DeskChat online with library staff 24/7
Recommended Resources
Research Tools
Use these databases to search for journal articles and conference papers. When you find an item you're interested in, look for a link labelled "Find It" or "Check for Availability", in order to determine whether we have it in electronic ("full text") or print format in the library. If we don't have either, you'll be directed to our Interlibrary Loan service, to order a copy from another university.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
- ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library includes technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, the ASABE membership magazine, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library contains ASCE journals, conference proceedings, e-books and standards.
- SAE Aerospace and Vehicle Standards, Journals, and Technical Papers This link opens in a new window SAE MOBILUS provides standards and journals related to the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Cal Poly users may access Ground Vehicle Standards, USCAR Reports, Aerospace Standards, and Aerospace Material Specifications, as well as all SAE international journals from 2013 to present and all SAE Technical Papers from 1990 to present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Senior Projects
- Find Senior Projects in the Digital Commons @ Cal Poly All Senior Projects submitted to the library are available online in the Digital Commons @ Cal Poly. Browse Senior Projects by department.
- Submit Your Senior Project to the Library Detailed guidelines for submitting your Senior Project to the library, including instructions, forms and policies.
Identifying and Reading Scholarly Articles
- How to Read a Scientific ArticleAn excellent overview of how to read an article - includes a template for taking notes.
By Mary Purugganan, Ph.D. and Jan Hewitt, Ph.D. of Rice University
Citing Your Sources
- ASABE Style Guide for AuthorsInformation on how to properly format a manuscript in ASABE Style. Click on the 'References' link or go to page 8 of this document to view the information.
- Citing SourcesAn explanation of why citing your sources is important and a list of popular citation styles including APA, MLA and more.
- Bias in Systems of Publication in AcademiaThis LibGuide serves to be an introduction to the biases in systems of publication in academia.
