Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Recommended Resources
Searching for Articles
A variety of scholarly databases (thematic collections of literature and other resources) are available through our library subscriptions. Some are also free for anyone to use. Important databases for BRAE researchers are listed here as a starting point.
Which database is right for your research?
Two main considerations for choosing a database are content and features.
Content: The description under each database title on this page gives an indication of the subjects included in its content. You can often find more detail by doing an internet search for "title list" or "source list" and the name of the database. For example, here is a list of the content of the Compendex database. Your librarian can also help you identify the best databases for your research.
Features: The look and feel of a database (and your options for refining a search) depend on the database platform. The Using Databases video below will show you common and unique features to look for in whatever database you are using, so you can get oriented fast.
- Using DatabasesThis 4 min tutorial shows you how to search well in most databases (courtesy of UCLA Library).
Tip: Each database and platform should have documentation available on how to make best use of these tools. Look for search tips/help buttons within the search interface, or on developer websites or user community forums/blogs.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis new search tool combines the content from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), the portal to USDA-authored and other agricultural research (PubAg), and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), providing access to the physical and electronic materials held or licensed by the National Agricultural Library in one place.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowThis is the largest database on agricultural topics, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management.
- ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new windowAmerican Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library includes technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, the ASABE membership magazine, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new windowThe American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library contains ASCE journals, conference proceedings, e-books and standards.
- GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive geoscience database covers topics in economic geology, environmental and engineering geology, geophysics, hydrology, paleontology, petrology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Indexed content includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
The geology of North America is covered from 1666 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Access also includes GeoRef In Process. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here. - Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowThe Core Collection of WOS contains content from leading journals across a wide variety of subject areas.
Agricultural Extension Documents
- Access to Extension and Experiment Station PublicationsA list compiled by the United States Agricultural Information Network
Agricultural Statistics
- California Agricultural Production StatisticsLinks to the California Agricultural Resource Directory
- Census of Agriculture - California DataContains state and county reports, county profiles, and rankings.
- California Statistics from the National Agricultural Statistics ServiceContains county estimates and an overview of California agriculture.
- National Agricultural Statistics ServiceThe National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.
Useful Websites
Notice: Materials taken from the Web must be used with permission and properly attributed. Information about using Government Resources.
