Recommended Resources
Important Books
Zoonoses by
Zoonoses are diseases naturally transmissible between vertebrate animals and man including those transmitted by direct contact with infected animals or carcases, by food or water contamination, and by inhalation of infected dust. They are increasingly important in public health issues. Divided into three sections along the lines of bacteriology, parasitology and virology, this book comprehensively provides a systematic, cross disciplinary approach to the science and control of all zoonoses, written by international specialists in human and veterinary medicine. Chapters cover the history of each disease, the scientific basis for the control of zoonoses, the microbiology of the causative agent, pathogenesis, clinical features, symptoms and signs, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. The epidemiology of each disease is described alongside the strategies for prevention and control. Each of these chapters have been updated for the second edition, and the book also includes new chapters on important public health topics such as interdisciplinary or policy issues as well as new chapters on emerging zoonoses such as SARS and other important emerging diseases and trends.
ISBN: 9780198570028Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Black's Veterinary Dictionary by
This encyclopaedic dictionary offers practical help and reference material to all who handle animals at farms, stables or at home. Entries define and describe information such as viruses, bacteria, and first aid for injured animals.
ISBN: 0713663626Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Cattle and Sheep Medicine by
The latest addition to the highly regarded and respected series of Veterinary Self-Assessment Colour Review aims to cover all aspects of cattle and sheep medicine. The 222 illustrated clinical cases are divided equally between cattle and sheep. The cases appear randomly to reflect real life practice and are presented as integrated questions, photographs and detailed explanatory answers--to educate not just to test. The book will appeal to professionals in practice and in universities, and to veterinary students.
ISBN: 1840761261Publication Date: 2010-10-15
Clinical Examination of Farm Animals by
Clinical examination is a fundamental part of the process of veterinary diagnosis. Without a proficient clinical examination and an accurate diagnosis it is unlikely that the treatment, control, prognosis and welfare of animals will be optimised. <p>This book will assist veterinary students in their understanding of farm animal clinical examination and act as a quick reference for clinicians who are called upon to examine an unfamiliar species. It will also provide a more detailed account for experienced clinicians in their continuing professional development.</p> <p>The authors provide a simple, explicit and reliable method of examining cattle, sheep, pigs and goats of all ages in the search for diagnostic information.</p>
ISBN: 0632057068Publication Date: 2002-07-19
Diseases of Swine by
First published in 1958, <i>Diseases of Swine, Tenth Edition</i> is a fully revised and updated version of this classic reference. Now published in association with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians, the Tenth Edition adds new knowledge throughout in a reorganized format to provide more intuitive access to information. With chapters written by more than 150 of the foremost experts in the field, <i>Diseases of Swine</i> remains the premier source of comprehensive information on swine production, health, and management for swine health specialists of all disciplines and at any level of expertise, including veterinarians, researchers, and students. <p>Featuring a new content organization designed for improved navigability, the Tenth Edition adds chapters on the cardiovascular system, diagnostic tests and test performance, food safety and zoonotic diseases, show and pet pigs, and the most current information on both long-recognized and emerging pathogens. <i>Diseases of Swine, Tenth Edition</i> is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in swine health.</p>
ISBN: 9780813822679Publication Date: 2012-05-15
Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by
This full-color text provides complete coverage of many large animal clinical procedures. Not only does this book show why and how each procedure is performed, it shows the veterinary technician's role in preparing for, assisting in, and following up on each one. It's useful as both a practical, on-the-job reference, and as a textbook in veterinary technology programs. Separate sections cover Equine, Ruminant, and Swine. Within each section, topics include restraint, diagnostic testing, bandaging, diagnostic imaging, surgery and anesthesia, fluid therapy, medical and surgical nursing by body system, and euthanasia and necropsy. A full-color format ensures clarity and the educational value of illustrations. Photographs and line drawings show restraint, bandaging, physical examination techniques, and diagnostic procedures. A practical approach makes this text useful in clinical situations, so veterinary technicians, acting under instructions of veterinarians, can plan and follow through on procedures and treatment regimens for large animals. Step-by-step descriptions help veterinary technicians understand medical and surgical procedures that they do not normally perform, including why, how, and the roles they fill. Proper medical terminology and common/layperson terminology are both used, helping veterinary technicians communicate effectively with clients and other professionals. A pictorial glossary of large animal instrumentation and equipment is included in the appendix. AVMA accreditation is promoted through coverage of the essential large animal-related tasks in the CVTEA Manual of Accreditation for Veterinary Technology Programs.
ISBN: 0323028551Publication Date: 2005-08-15
Veterinary Medicine by
The new 10th edition of this well-respected reference includes thoroughly revised and reviewed information with content on new diseases for the most up-to-date information on diseases effecting sheep, pigs, goats, horses, and cattle. Divided into two sections, General Medicine and Special Medicine, the book covers topics ranging from the clinical examination and manifestation of disease in organ systems to specific diseases of the large animal species. Includes important information essential to any large-animal veterinarian, especially those working with horses, cattle, sheep, pigs, or goats. User-friendly format allows the reader to quickly absorb key information. Quick review/synopsis sections for complex diseases make important information easy to find. Features content on major diseases of all countries, including foreign animal and emerging diseases. Completely revised chapters reflect the information from current literature. New chapters address diseases associated with prions and identify important emerging diseases. A new main author who is a recognized authority on internal medicine of ruminant species with extensive clinical experience and scientific publications brings his expertise to this important reference. Includes content from contributing authors who are international authorities on pig diseases, toxicological disease in animals, and diseases associated with artropod parasites. Several new illustrations and sonograms provide up-to-date visual aids for better understanding.
ISBN: 0702027774Publication Date: 2007-01-31
Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease by
Microbiology is one of the core subjects for veterinary students, and since its first publication in 2002, Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease has become an essential text for students of veterinary medicine. Fully revised and expanded, this new edition updates the subject for pre-clinical and clinical veterinary students in a comprehensive manner. Individual sections deal with bacteriology, mycology and virology. Written by an academic team with many years of teaching experience, the book provides concise descriptions of groups of microorganisms and the diseases which they cause. Microbial pathogens are discussed in separate chapters which provide information on the more important features of each microorganism and its role in the pathogenesis of diseases of animals. The international and public health significance of these pathogens are reviewed comprehensively. The final section is concerned with the host and is organized according to the body system affected. Tables, boxes and flow diagrams provide information in an easily assimilated format. This edition contains new chapters on molecular diagnostics and on infectious conditions of the skin, cardiovascular system, urinary tract and musculoskeletal system. Many new colour diagrams are incorporated into this edition and each chapter has been updated. Key features of this edition: Twelve new chapters included Numerous new illustrations Each chapter has been updated Completely re-designed in full colour Fulfils the needs of veterinary students and academics in veterinary microbiology Companion website with figures from the book as Powerpoints for viewing or downloading by chapter: www.wiley.com/go/quinn/veterinarymicrobiology Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease remains indispensable for all those studying and teaching this essential component of the veterinary curriculum.
ISBN: 9781405158237Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Important Journals
- The California VeterinarianPrint only
Searching for Articles
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a comprehensive source of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Avoiding Plagiarism
- What is Plagiarism?Information about plagiarism, its definition, and Cal Poly's disciplinary process from the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.
- Tutorial - PlagiarismA short video on plagiarism courtesy of Clemson University.
Citing Your Sources
For this class, you will use cite your sources in the style that is used for Journal of Animal Science. Below is a list of resources to help you to cite your sources in proper format. Contact Katherine if you need assistance.
- Citing Sources Cheat Sheet - Journal of Animal ScienceHighlights guidelines for formatting common source types including books, articles, and Webpages. Also includes examples.
- Journal of Animal Science - Instructions to AuthorsSee page 453 for information about citing sources in-text and in the Literature Cited.
- View Article from Journal of Animal ScienceUse this as a guide for formatting your in-text and Literature Cited references.
