In-Class Activity
Need Help?
- Research Help DeskChat Online with Library Staff 24/7
Recommended Resources
Research Tools
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes BIOSIS indexing and enhanced MeSH disease terms.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window FSTA focuses on pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition. It covers the complete food manufacturing cycle, from initial market research to final packaging, and includes research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Senior Projects
- Find Senior Projects in the Digital Commons @ Cal Poly All Senior Projects submitted to the library are available online in the Digital Commons @ Cal Poly. Browse Senior Projects by department.
- Submit Your Senior Project to the Library Detailed guidelines for submitting your Senior Project to the library, including instructions, forms and policies.
Writing a Literature Review
The Literature Review by Call Number: Permanent Reserves (Front Desk) - LB1047.3 .M33 2012ISBN: 9781452240886Publication Date: 2012-06-08
The Literature Review: A Step-by-Step Guide for Students by Call Number: Permanent Reserves (Front Desk) - LB2369 .R525 2008ISBN: 9781412934268Publication Date: 2008
Reading Articles
- How to Read a Scientific ArticleAn excellent overview of how to read an article - includes a template for taking notes.
By Mary Purugganan, Ph.D. and Jan Hewitt, Ph.D. of Rice University
Citing Your Sources
- Instructions to Authors for the American Journal of Enology and ViticultureIncludes guidelines for citing sources on pgs. 2-3.
