Digital Projects in Special Collections and Archives

Using digital tools, students can create interactive methods to help Special Collections and Archives explore and learn from primary sources and other material from the archives. We have included below a selection of projects created by students using archival materials. 

Are you interested in creating a project? See a example list of ideas using the University Archives, or contact us at archives@calpoly.edu to chat about your project idea or interests!

Learn more about Special Collections and Archives and explore our Guides: https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/sca 

Mapping Student Activism at Cal Poly 

• Tool: Google My Maps
• Creators: SCA student assistants 
• Archives data: Student newspaper articles and other research from the University Archives
• Timeframe: Ongoing
• Link to map

 

 

Walking tour of Residential Life History

• Tool: ArcGIS StoryMaps
• Creators: SCA Intern Emma Hayden
• Archives data: extensive research on campus built history
• Timeframe: 1 quarter, Winter 2021
• Link to map

 

 

 

 

Walking tour: West Campus

• Tool: ArcGIS StoryMaps
• Creators: SCA Intern Emma Hayden
• Archives data: extensive research on campus built history
• Timeframe: 1 quarter, Winter 2021
• Link to map

 

 

 

 

 

Interactive map timeline of Cal Poly buildings

• Tool: ArcGIS Online
• Creator: SCA student assistant Alex Thomas 
• Archives data: Digitized maps and other research from the University Archives
• Timeframe: 2 quarters
• Read more about the experience
• Link to map

 

Mapping the Trees of Cal Poly

• Tool: Google My Maps
• Creators: SCA staff 
• Archives data: Student newspaper articles, yearbooks, and other research from the University Archives
• Timeframe: 1 quarter
• Used in the Cal Poly Magazine in 2016
• Link to map

 

 

Crowdsourcing University Archives Photo pins

• Tool: Google My Maps
• Creators: Undergraduate volunteer students
• Archives data: Digitized University Archives photos
• Timeframe: 3 Hour service-learning project with Botany 121 students
• Link to map

 

Views of San Luis Obispo, 1904

• Tool: Google My Maps
• Creators: SCA student assistants 
• Archives data: Views of San Luis Obispo, from J. H. Tigner's "Souvenir San Luis Obispo Fire Department," 1904. 
• Timeframe: 1 quarter 
• Link to map

 

 

1883 San Luis Obispo County

• Tool: Google My Maps
• Creators: SCA student assistant Alistair Forston
• Archives data: Lithographs from Myron Angel's 1883 San Luis Obispo
• Timeframe: 1 quarter 
• Link to map

ArcGIS Story Map: The Forgotten Work of Arthur G. Barton

• Tool: ArcGIS Story Maps
• Creators: Ella Ban, Special Collections and Archives Student Assistant
• Archives data: Project Index for the Arthur G. Barton Papers
• Timeframe: Winter Quarter 2020
• Link to StoryMap

 

ArcGIS Tour Map: William F. Cody, a Desert Pioneer

• Tool: ArcGIS Story Maps Map Tour
• Creators: Katie Sheetz, Special Collections and Archives Student Assistant
• Archives data: Project Index for the William F. Cody Papers
• Timeframe: Summer 2016
• Link to map