Recommended Resources
Research Tools
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal research database that includes case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, and treatises.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here. - CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
- FedSYS (1995-Present)Above, at FedSYS, you can find:
United States Code
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register
Congressional Hearings
Congressional Reports - National Agricultural Law CenterThe Center’s website is a clearinghouse for legal information that spans nearly four dozen agricultural and food law topics both in the United States and around the world.
- National Service Center for Environmental PublicationsA service of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!
- US Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural LibraryA comprehensive source for technical, scientific, legal and educational materials related to agriculture.
- OpenGovernment - California State LegislatureIncludes bill tracking, news, analysis, etc.
- Google Advanced Search A more powerful way to search google. Limit search by domain or site.
Government Agencies
- Congress.govThe official website of the US Congress, congress.gov provides detailed information on federal legislation, the legislative process, federal law, Congressional schedules and more.
- Bureau of Land ManagementInformation about U.S. public lands and their management.
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)Contains information about weather, climate, oceans and more.
- National Park ServiceFind information about national parks and explore related educational materials.
- US Department of AgricultureInformation about agricultural topic, laws, policies, regulations, programs and more.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyInformation about environmental topics, laws, regulation, and more.
- U.S. Forest ServiceInformation about forest land management, science, technology, and more.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife ServiceContains information about programs, research, policy, and more.
- California State LegislatureFind California laws, bill information, publications and more.
- California Air Resources BoardContains information about air pollution, air quality, laws, and regulations for the state of California.
- California Department of ConservationThe Department of Conservation provides services and information that promote environmental health, economic vitality, informed land-use decisions and sound management of our state's natural resources.
- California Department of Fish & Wildlife (CDFW)Department of Fish and Wildlife manages California's diverse fish, wildlife, and plant resources, and the habitats upon which they depend, for their ecological values and for their use and enjoyment by the public.
- California Department of Food and AgricultureThe California Department of Food and Agriculture mission is To promote and protect a safe, healthy food supply, and enhance local and global agricultural trade, through efficient management, innovation and sound science, with a commitment to environmental stewardship, providing services and information on pest management, marketing, research, organic, animal health, trade, fairs and fertilizing materials.
- California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection (CAL FIRE)California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CAL FIRE) provides fire protection and stewardship of over 31 million acres of California's privately-owned wildlands.
- California Department of Water ResourcesThe Department of Water Resources (DWR) is responsible for managing and protecting California’s water.
- California Environmental Protection Agency (CALEPA)Environmental Protection Agency's mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality.
- California Fish & Game Commission (FGC)Fish & Game Commission establishes regulations for fish and game in California.
- California Natural Resources AgencyThe Natural Resources Agency mission is to restore, protect and manage the state's natural, historical and cultural resources.
- California State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB)The State Water Resources Control Board's mission is to preserve, enhance, and restore the quality of California’s water resources and drinking water for the protection of the environment, public health, and all beneficial uses, and to ensure proper water resource allocation and efficient use, for the benefit of present and future generations.
- California Wildlife Conservation BoardThe Wildlife Conservation Board's three main functions are land acquisition, habitat restoration and development of wildlife oriented public access facilities, which are carried out through its programs.
Avoiding Plagiarism
- What is Plagiarism?Information about plagiarism, its definition, and Cal Poly's disciplinary process from the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.
- Tutorial - PlagiarismA short video on plagiarism courtesy of Clemson University.
Citing Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433805615See pages 216-224 for guidelines and examples for citing legal materials.
- Purdue OWL APA Formatting and Style Guide APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
