SLO County Open GIS datasets

The City of San Luis Obispo Open GIS Data

Cal Poly Campus CAD and Geographic Information System (GIS) Maps. Layers include campus basemap features, land use, building floor plans, visitor maps, and more.

High resolution LiDAR elevation data and Imagery for portions of SLO County.

The California Geoportal provides easy and convenient ways to discover and share geospatial data resources.

Spreadsheet with links to California Counties' GIS pages, including parcel viewer web applications.

Open Data for the State of California

Biogeographic data and GIS Services from CA Fish and Wildlife

Access FRAP datasets related to wildfires, forestry, census, vegetation, land cover, climate, watersheds and related data.

Data managment tool for water resources data. Create free account to view and download datasets.

Analysis, maps, and reports of predicted sea-level rise in California prepared for the state, that includes the GIS data for download.

Climate change data and related resources for California.

USGS National Map download application is the primary source for federal geospatial (GIS) datasets.

Access geospatial datasets through the ESRI ArcGIS Living Atlas. This is a curated catalog of map and GIS datasets combining international, federal, state, local, and nonprofit GIS data providers. Subscription access is available through Cal Poly.

Browse Open Street Map to view open, community-contributed map data throughout the world. For shapefile downloads, visit the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap export tool. https://export.hotosm.org/en/v3/

Download CAD basemap data for select cities in the US and the world. Layers include roads, buildings, coastline, stream & lakes, parks and other features. Data derived from Open Street Map.

A listing of publicly accessible GIS servers from, federal, state and local government links.

Web map representing indigenous lands throughout the world. This map is created to foster conversation about the history of colonialism and Indigenous ways of knowing. Map data represent areas of territories, languages and treaties can be viewed online or accessed via API.

Displays the extent and availability of high-resolution topographic and bathymetric data available in the US.

Access high resolution LiDAR topographic data as a DEM or point cloud format, for sites in California and the US.

Links to federal GIS Datasets including NRCS Soil Survey datasets, downloadable by county extents.

Primary portal to view and access NRCS Soil Survey datasets, both shapefile and tabular soils data.

The NOAA Digital Coast site provides access to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration datasets, focused on marine, coastal and climate applications.

Access NOAA climate data and related geospatial data products.

USGS National Geologic Map Database provides access to maps and data about geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology and marine geology.

Search and access the EPA's environmental data resources.

Social Explorer provides streamlined access to US Census datasets, with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Export tabular data or visualize data online. This is a campus subscription service

The Economic Census originally started out as part of the General Decennial Census and the Princeton University Library economic census has data dating back to 1810

Access historical census data and GIS boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.

Collection of sites containing historical geospatial data for a variety of topics and regions

The Opportunity Atlas is a map-based exploration of economic mobility, looking at income and demographic data summarized from a sampling of 20 million Americans from childhood to their mid-30s.

A dot density map, by CNN, depicting the US Census 2020 data on census race. This map style was based on the previous Racial Dot map, created by the University of Virginia, which is no longer available. https://demographics.coopercenter.org/racial-dot-map

Links to governmental National Map collections for over 60 countries.

The United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization data catalog GeoNetwork allows you to search for worldwide datasets in many categories.

The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names is a resource of over 2,000,000 names of current and historical places, including cities, archaeological sites, nations, and physical features. It focuses mainly on places relevant to art, architecture, archaeology, art conservation, and related fields.