Web Resources
- Evidence Based PracticeThis tutorial from Northern Arizona University provides an excellent introduction to and overview of Evidence Based Practice.
- Cochrane LibraryThis international not-for-profit organization publishes high-quality systematic reviews in health care.
- Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice DatabaseDesigned for healthcare providers to search across a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform their clinical practice.
Additional Resources
- Eat Right- Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsThe American Dietetic Association is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
Find Background Information
- MedlinePlusAuthoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- PubMed BooksAn online collection of free, full-text biomedical books.
- OneSearchUse OneSearch to find materials at Kennedy Library. Search by keyword, title, author, and more.
- WorldCatUse WorldCat to search libraries across the country and around the world for materials not available in Kennedy Library or other CSU libraries. Use Interlibrary Services to request materials.
If the material you need is not available at Kennedy Library, use Interlibrary Services (ILS) to request it from another library.
Search for Articles
Use one of the databases listed below to search for articles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window FSTA focuses on pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition. It covers the complete food manufacturing cycle, from initial market research to final packaging, and includes research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
Database Tutorials
- Comparing Pubmed and CINAHLUnderstand the differences in content between these complementary health science search tools.
- Using PubMed in Evidence-Based PracticeUsing PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice was created to help clinicians including nurses and allied health professionals develop a clinical question using the PICO framework and efficiently find relevant biomedical literature using PubMed. The tutorial was designed to be completed in less than 30 minutes.
- PubMed TutorialsA menu of short tutorials to help you use the PubMed database.
- Pubmed Clinical Queries ToolThis tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
Find Journals
Use the link below to search for journals by title at Kennedy Library.
- Journals by Title Search by title for journals (print and e-journals) available at Kennedy Library.
Statistics
- Find DataThis excellent interactive tutorial by Kennedy Library's GIS and Data Specialist walks you through how to search for data on your topic. The advice will help you approach searching for information in any format, including literature.
- RAND California This link opens in a new windowRAND California provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues, as well as access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
Citing Sources
Information for Authors from the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics has guidance on many aspects of research design and reporting.
See References under Manuscript preparation for guidance on citing sources.
Avoiding Plagiarism
- What is Plagiarism?Information about plagiarism, its definition, and Cal Poly's disciplinary process from the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.
- Avoiding Plagiarism, Self-plagiarism, and Other Questionable Writing Practices: A Guide to Ethical Writingby Miguel Roig, St. Johns University
