Characteristics of scholarly, trade, and popular articles.
You must use a database to search for articles. Kennedy Library has many different databases and indexes to choose from. Some are very broad and cover a wide variety of disciplines, while others are very narrow and only cover specific disciplines.
An example of a broad database/index is Academic Search Premier. This database/index covers almost all disciplines (e.g. psychology, business, biology).
An example of a narrower, subject-specific database/index is AGRICOLA. This database/index covers topics in agriculture and related disciplines.
It is important to select an appropriate database or index when searching for articles, so you can find what you are looking for quickly and easily.
Use one of the databases listed below to search for articles on your topic.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is a resource for topics related to horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about all types of plants in the U.S. and its territories. It includes names distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information and much more.
A short video on plagiarism courtesy of Clemson University.
Citing Your Sources
Purdue OWL APA Formatting and Style GuideAPA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 7th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.