ASCI 220 - Introductory Animal Nutrition and Feeding
Recommended Resources
National Research Council Handbooks
The resources below will be helpful and useful for researching the nutrient requirements for specific animals.
Nutrient Requirements of Small Ruminants by
Updating two previous National Research Council publications, Nutrient Requirements of Sheep, Sixth Revised Edition, 1985, and Nutrient Requirements of Goats, First Edition, 1981, this new book provides an evaluation of the scientific literature on the nutrient requirements of small ruminants in all stages of life. In addition, effects of the environment, feed additives, and metabolism modifiers on nutrient requirements are addressed. Proper formulation of diets for small ruminants depends on adequate knowledge of their nutrient requirements. These requirements depend on the breed and age of the animal and whether he or she is exercising, pregnant, or lactating. Nutrient Requirements of Small Ruminants brings together a summary of this latest data with new and expanded information on the composition of feeds commonly consumed by small ruminants, both domestic and wild. For the first time this authoritative reference work includes information on cervids and camelids. Primarily intended for animal nutritionists, veterinarians, and other scientists, some sections will be useful to individual sheep and goat owners and managers and to those responsible for the care and management of wildlife species. As both a practical and a technical reference book, this material is written to ensure that diets of small ruminants contain adequate amounts of nutrients and that intakes of certain nutrients are not so excessive that they inhibit performance or impair health.
ISBN: 0309102138Publication Date: 2007-01-22
Nutrient Requirements of Mink and Foxes (Ebook) 1982 by ISBN: 0309074762Publication Date: 1982-02-01
Nutrient Requirements of Swine by
Since 1944, the National Research Council has published 10 editions of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine. This reference has guided nutritionists and other professionals in academia and the swine and feed industries in developing and implementing nutritional and feeding programs for swine. The swine industry has undergone considerable changes since the tenth edition was published in 1998 and some of the requirements and recommendations set forth at that time are no longer relevant or appropriate. The eleventh revised edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine builds on the previous editions published by the National Research Council. A great deal of new research has been published during the last 15 years and there is a large amount of new information for many nutrients. In addition to a thorough and current evaluation of the literature on the energy and nutrient requirements of swine in all stages of life, this volume includes information about feed ingredients from the biofuels industry and other new ingredients, requirements for digestible phosphorus and concentrations of it in feed ingredients, a review of the effects of feed additives and feed processing, and strategies to increase nutrient retention and thus reduce fecal and urinary excretions that could contribute to environmental pollution. The tables of feed ingredient composition are significantly updated. Nutrient Requirements of Swine represents a comprehensive review of the most recent information available on swine nutrition and ingredient composition that will allow efficient, profitable, and environmentally conscious swine production.
ISBN: 9780309224239Publication Date: 2012-08-02
Search for Articles
Use one of the article databases listed below to search for articles.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowZoological Record covers all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, taxonomy, biodiversity, and zoology, focusing on the natural biology of animals (fossil, recent, whole animal, behavioral, environmental, and cellular studies), with coverage back to 1864.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Search for Books
- OneSearchUse OneSearch to find materials at Kennedy Library. Search by keyword, title, author, and more.
Scientific Communication and Citing Your Sources
As part of this course, you will learn how to communicate as a professional scientist using the technical style elements that are commonly used in scientific writing and communication. You will format your writing and cite your sources in the style that is used for Journal of Animal Science.
Below is a list of resources to help you use proper format in your assignments for this course.
- View Article from Journal of Animal ScienceUse this as a guide for formatting your in-text and Literature Cited references.
- Journals Database from PubMedUse this database to find journal title abbreviations for specific journals by title.
Additional Tools
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
- Google Advanced SearchA more powerful way to search google. Limit search by domain or site.