Print Books and Physical Kennedy Collections Not Available Due to Coronovirus
Due to the Coronovirus health concerns, PHYSICAL materials such as books listed in this guide are not currently available. Similarly, the library cannot provide access to PHYSICAL materials via CSU+ or Interlibary Loan. However, 99% of what Kennedy Library offers are online resources, so you are in luck no matter where you are located! And ILL can still provide articles, select book chapters, and other materials electronically. This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases for your field. And if you need help, don't forget 24/7 live chat help, or you can also contact the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
MAKE SURE you are logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so the Get it At Cal Poly button can get you to the full text. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
GREAT TIP: in the menu ABOVE "Advanced Search" Click "Change Databases"' CLICK "SELECT ALL" then scroll to the bottom and click on "USE SELECTED DATABASES'. Then you will search ALL ProQuest databases at once.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
ScienceDirect hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books primarily in the fields of science, technology, and health. The site also provides full-text access to a modest number of e-textbooks.
Web of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work.
The Philosopher's Index covers all fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of epistemology, philosophy of ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.
APA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.