COVID-19: Limited Access to Tangible Kennedy Collections and CSU+ through "Contactless Pick-up"
95% of Kennedy Library collections are online resources, so for these you are in luck no matter where you are located! Currently, physical materials from Kennedy Library (excluding print Course Reserves) can be requested and checked out through contactless pickup. Some items can also be requested and checked out using CSU+. Such access to physical items will not be as rapid as under normal circumstances, so this is not a good option if you are in a hurry. For items held outside the CSU system, ILL can provide articles, select book chapters, and other materials electronically, but no physical items can be requested at this time. For details regarding "contactless pick-up" see the Kennedy COVID-19 Guide at:https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/COVID-19
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 live chat at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at email@example.com.
HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
MAKE SURE you are logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so the Get it At Cal Poly button can get you to the full text. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
GREAT TIP: in the menu ABOVE "Advanced Search" Click "Change Databases"' CLICK "SELECT ALL" then scroll to the bottom and click on "USE SELECTED DATABASES'. Then you will search ALL ProQuest databases at once.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
The CountryWatch product suite includes CountryReviews, which includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information for each country; and CountryWire, which provides daily and archived news coverage for every country in the world. Additional features include CountryWatch Data, CountryWatch Map Gallery, Image Gallery, Global Guide, Political Intelligence Briefing and Intelligence Wire.
The CountryWatch Macroeconomic Forecast projects the major macroeconomic variables of each of the established countries in the world over a 20 year period. In addition this Forecast provides five years of history.
Europa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.
RAND California provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues, as well as access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
Military & Government Collection covers subjects related to all branches of the military and government, including defense systems, disease control, monetary policy, international relations, and environmental policy, with full text available for hundreds of indexed publications.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. eBook content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.