Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
CLA Librarian
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 LIVE CHAT at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Video: Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live ChatThis 120 second video explains how 5 minutes of chat can save you 15 minutes of agony!
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
Good Article Databases to Search One at a Time
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
If you know the article you want and want to find the full text
Google Scholar: Try the author's last name and a good chunk of the title in " " and then use the Find it At Cal Poly link, often found hidden beneath the "more" under the result. Be sure that you are logged into MyCalPoly Portal AND signed into OneSearch.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Books
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- WorldCAT100s of libraries in North America - and you can request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Gale Virtual Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowThe Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, and standard university reference works covering most subject areas.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEuropa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.
