Interdisciplinary Studies
College of Liberal Arts Librarian & Coordinator of Reference
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
OneSearch: Articles and Books
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 LIVE CHAT at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Video: Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live ChatThis 120 second video explains how 5 minutes of chat can save you 15 minutes of agony!
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
Science and Technology
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books primarily in the fields of science, technology, and health. The site also provides full-text access to a modest number of e-textbooks.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. Great specific subject headings once you get results.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Ethics
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyFrequently updated, free, online Encyclopedia.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles - be sure to use "Get It" button to link out to full text.
Psychology & Education
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Data and Demographics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work. - MRI Simmons This link opens in a new windowMRI Simmons provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences of consumers. CROSSTAB reports may be saved or exported. Note: Saved CROSSTAB reports are accessible to all users. Exporting your work is strongly recommended.
Simultaneous users limited to 20.